News Release Details

EAC to present its annual Fall Orchestra Concert

Story Photo


EAC to present its annual Fall Orchestra Concert

By Lori Dugan

THATCHER, AZ—Eastern Arizona College’s Symphony and Chamber Orchestra will present its annual Fall Orchestra Concert on November 18 at 7:30 p.m. The concert will be held in the College’s Fine Arts Auditorium and will be conducted by EAC Orchestra Director Franklin Alvarez. Admission is $5/person.

The 41-piece symphony will perform Fete Polonaise from Le Roi malgre lui by Emmanuel Chabrier; Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major, KV 488, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, featuring EAC adjunct piano instructor, Elaine Dyches as the piano soloist; and for the finale of the concert, they will play Symphony No. 2 (Little Russian), Op. 17, composed by Peter Ilitch Tchaikovsky.

EAC’s 24-piece Chamber Orchestra will also perform Tocatta La Rocca, by Alfred Reed.

“These are serious musicians with a tremendous amount of passion,” said Alvarez. “That passion manifests into a lively and entertaining performance.”