News Release Details

EAC’s 24th Annual Student Chemistry Adventure brings chemistry to life for high school students

Story Photo


EAC’s 24th Annual Student Chemistry Adventure brings chemistry to life for high school students

By Contributed

Thatcher, AZ— Eastern Arizona College’s Chemistry Department welcomed 74 high school students and their teachers to the 25th Annual Student Chemistry Adventure. Twenty-one unique teams from high schools across Arizona enjoyed a day filled with chemistry.

Teams composed of 3-4 students competed against each other while rotating through three separate chemistry activities. The Industrial Laboratory competition was led by Jing Lin, Senior Chemist at Freeport McMoRan (FMI), and Duane DeSpain, EAC biology instructor, with assistance from five additional FMI scientists. The Knowledge and Speed competitions, where students had 55 minutes to complete several short chemistry projects, concluded the activities. At the end of the tournaments, each participant was presented with a copper puck souvenir courtesy of FMI.

After a lunch provided by Sodexo Food Service, students and teachers congregated in the Math/Science building where an array of other colorful, loud, bright, and exciting chemical demonstrations were given.

Dr. Phil McBride, EAC dean of instruction, recognized the participants and expressed thanks to the high school chemistry teachers for their efforts in providing quality instruction to their students.

The “Atoms Family” of Safford High School composed of Danny John, Summer Dahlquist-Tookey, Dalton Henrie, and Statton Baldwin received first place medals and a team plaque. Second place medals and a team plaque went to the “Morenci Cu Cats” composed of Ernest Arvizo, Matthew Porter, Skyler Howard, and Andrew Stavast. Third place medals and a team plaque went to NaCl from Thatcher High School composed of Katie Baldwin, Maya Baldwin, and Marc Terry.

McBride, DeSpain, and Joel Shelton, another of EAC’s chemistry instructors, expressed a special thanks to high school teachers Joni Giacomino (Douglas), Becky Bell (Duncan), Dana Olson (Fort Thomas), Kristy Roberts (Morenci), Heidi Vosbein (Mt. Graham), Carol Hawkins (Pima), Brian J. Bruessel (Safford) and Ty White (Willcox) for their teaching expertise and dedication to their students. These teachers are truly making a difference in their schools.

For further information about educational and career opportunities in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) fields or for information about exciting science camps being offered this summer for students entering grades 6-12, including a 3-day, 2-night extended camp at Tonto Creek, contact Phil McBride at Eastern Arizona College at (928) 428-8404.