News Release Details

EAC Orchestras offer The Romantic Spirit on stage next week

Story Photo


EAC Orchestras offer The Romantic Spirit on stage next week

By Lori Dugan

THATCHER, AZ—Eastern Arizona College’s Symphony and Chamber Orchestras will be offering The Romantic Spirit for its spring concert this year. The concert, primarily featuring the music of the romantic era, is scheduled for Saturday, May 3, at 7:30 p.m. in the College’s Fine Arts Auditorium. Admission to the concert is free. The program includes Francoise Devienne’s Trio in G major, Ludwig van Beethoven’s Egmont Overture, Edvard Grieg’s Concerto in A Minor, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Allegro in C Major, and Georges Bizet’s Suite No. 2 L’Arléssienne. “The main difference between Classical and Romantic music came from attitudes toward rules…Romantic composers did not feel constrained by form. Music was no longer universal; it was personal,” says EAC’s orchestra director, Franklin Alvarez, who will conduct the concert. “The personal sufferings and triumphs of the composer could be reflected in stormy music that might even place a higher value on emotion than on beauty. Music was not just happy or sad; it could be wildly joyous, terrified, despairing, or filled with deep longings.” Tickets for The Romantic Spirit are available at EAC’s Ticket Office at 428-8228 and will also be available at the door. ###