News Release Details

EAC awards scholarships to local students at annual banquet

Story Photo


EAC awards scholarships to local students at annual banquet

By Jeanné Clark

THATCHER, AZ—Eastern Arizona College’s 24th Annual Scholarship Banquet on September 12, 2008, recognized the scholastic achievements of more than eighty EAC students, many from Graham County.

The banquet, held in Thatcher, recognized donors and recipients of almost sixty scholarships. Many of these scholarships are annually funded by the contributions of a range of organizations and individuals, while the other awards are funded by the earnings of endowments gifted to the College by various donors.

The Alumni Association Scholarship is presented to the child or grandchild of an EAC alumnus who has demonstrated exemplary character traits and academic ability. This year’s recipients were Lesley Huffenberger, Jaron Lines, and Landon Montierth of Safford, and Jennifer Sorensen, Wesley Adam Wright and Shanna Allred, all of Thatcher.

The family and friends of Tony and William Bernstein have established a memorial to provide the opportunity of higher education to a deserving student seeking a degree in industrial technology or environmental biology. This year’s recipient was Warwick Dinning from Safford.

The Chase Scholarship, given to a returning student majoring in business with a high GPA and participating in extracurricular activities, was awarded to Alyssa Talavera of Safford.

The College Park Scholarship, providing for full tuition, was awarded to Scott Mulleneaux from Thatcher.

The Eldon and Lucille Palmer Memorial Scholarship, presented to a full-time student from Thatcher High School majoring in music, was presented to Tucker Brown.

Jessica Whipple of Safford was the recipient of the Ella T. and J. David Lee Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is presented to an EAC student majoring in either Administrative Information Services or another vocational field.

The Helen Johnson Bone Scholarship was awarded to Julie Ann White from Pima. The scholarship benefits a homemaker or displaced homemaker seeking a degree.

The H. Greg Brockmeier Scholarship, providing full tuition, was awarded to Amanda Upshaw from Safford.

Holliann Ferber, from Safford, was awarded the Graham County Republican Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to a graduate of a Graham County high school who is a registered Republican upon his or her 18th birthday.

The Johnson Motors Corporation Automotive/Mechanic Scholarship is presented to a returning student in the automotive technology program with preference to students exhibiting financial need. This year’s recipient was Raina Arnell of Central.

The Ladies Auxiliary to the VFW Post 10385 Scholarship was awarded to Maria Gardner of Safford. This scholarship is awarded to a student who is a veteran or relative of a veteran of the United States Armed Services.

The Mamie Firth Jr. Scholarship, provided to EAC students seeking a degree in nursing, was awarded to Kimberlee Sell from Safford.

The Mark J. Green Excellence in Spanish Scholarship is presented in memory of Mark J. Green, who passed away while attending Eastern, and is awarded to a top student in Spanish language courses. This scholarship provides funds toward educational expenses and was awarded to Darleen Weech of Pima.

The Mt. Graham Regional Medical Center Board of Directors Nursing Scholarship was presented to Angela Wood and Valerie Evans, both from Safford. The MGRMC Board of Directors provides this scholarship to EAC students seeking a degree in nursing.

The Newman Club Scholarship is awarded to returning students who are active participants in the Newman Club and present excellent examples of Catholic youth both on and off campus. This year’s recipient is Tricia Colvin from Safford.

The Safford Business and Professional Women’s Club Scholarship provides a scholarship to women returning to college after an interruption caused by occupational or family responsibility. This year’s recipients were Mary Millard from Thatcher and Brandy Sue Matthews from Safford.

The Safford Lions Club Scholarship was presented to Amanda Gause and Megan Wells, both of Safford. It is awarded to an incoming freshman who is a graduate of a Graham County high school.

Kevin Camargo of Safford received the Safford Rotary Club Scholarship, awarded to a deserving Graham County high school graduate.

The Tom and Becky Johnson Nursing Scholarship was awarded to Rebecca Smith from Pima. It is granted to a student in their second year of the EAC Nursing Program.

The recipient of the Walter and Julia Rogers Scholarship was Helen Lucero of Thatcher. It is given to a student seeking a university transfer curriculum or a certificate program leading to employment.

Katie Woodward, from Safford, was awarded the Wayne M. and Barbara S. McGrath Memorial Scholarship. It was established by the family of the former president of Eastern Arizona College, Wayne M. McGrath, to benefit the students and community they love.