News Release Details

EAC orchestras present Symphonic Spectacular

Story Photo


EAC orchestras present Symphonic Spectacular

By Lori Dugan

THATCHER, AZ—Eastern Arizona College’s Symphony and Chamber Orchestra will present their Fall Concert, Symphonic Spectacular, on November 22, at 7:30 p.m. The concert will be held in the Gherald L. Hoopes Jr. Activities Center–Lee Little Theater and will be conducted by EAC Orchestra Director Franklin Alvarez. Admission is $5/person.

The program includes music written over the span of more than 300 years by composers from Germany, Russia, Italy, France, England, and the United States. “The common thread,” explains Alvarez, “is volume! We have chosen bold, deliberate pieces for this concert to give the audience a truly spectacular symphonic experience.”

The concert will open with four pieces by the EAC Symphony: Brahms’ Hungarian Dance #5, Courage’s Star Trek Through the Years, Holst’s The Planets, and Handel’s Concerto grosso No. 12 Op. 6 in B minor.

The second part of the concert will showcase the College’s Chamber Orchestra who will perform Respighi’s Pines of Rome, Saint-Saens’ Danse Macabre, and Tchaikovsky’s Marche Slave, Op. 31.

Tickets for Symphonic Spectacular are available at the EAC Ticket Office at 428-8228 and will also be available at the door.