News Release Details

EAC’s 14th Annual Chemistry Adventure brings chemistry to life for area high school students

Story Photo


EAC’s 14th Annual Chemistry Adventure brings chemistry to life for area high school students

Lori Dugan

THATCHER, AZ—Eastern Arizona College’s Chemistry Department — consisting of Joel Shelton and Dr. Phil McBride — hosted the 14th Annual Chemistry Adventureon March 30, 2006. Approximately 50 high school students from Morenci, Safford, Safford Christian, Duncan, Ft. Thomas and Willcox participated in this full-day event. Dr. McBride formally welcomed participants and their teachers in the College’s Gherald L. Hoopes Jr. Activities Center Lee Little Theatre. Jeff Savage, EAC’s Admissions Coordinator, spent 15 minutes showing students the academic and extracurricular possibilities available at EAC.

The students competed in teams of four with events including a team competition where students solved chemistry-related problems. Other activities involved teams making observations of an exothermic reaction, using gas laws to build a Cartesian diver, and boiling water at room temperature in a syringe.

The third event was a team laboratory where students determined heat of fusion for ice, (Ft. Thomas had the lowest percent error at 7%). Teams were graded on laboratory technique, calculations, graphing, and accuracy.

While results were being tabulated, EAC’s Organic Chemistry students dazzled the high school students with an array of colorful, loud, bright, and exciting chemical exhibitions.

Invited high school students prepare for this event all year. The Adventure gives them a chance to meet EAC chemistry instructors and experience some of the possibilities in the chemistry field.

Awards were presented at the conclusion of the chemistry demonstrations. 30 Below is a list of winners:

1st place:

Safford High School

Coached by Joel Bingham

Team members:

Dallin Gordon

James Hinton

Steven Harmon

Ryan Rood 2nd place:

Duncan High School

Coached by Cody Barlow

Team members:

Nathan Lunt

Michael Payne

Adrianna Rodriguez

Callie Boyd