News Release Details

EAC awards scholarships to local students at annual banquet

Story Photo


EAC awards scholarships to local students at annual banquet

By Jeanné Clark

THATCHER, AZ—Eastern Arizona College’s 25th Annual Scholarship Banquet was held last month to recognize the scholastic achievements of more than 80 EAC students.

The banquet, held at EAC’s campus in Thatcher, recognized donors and recipients of almost sixty scholarships. Many of these scholarships are annually funded by the contributions of a range of organizations and individuals, while the other awards are funded by the earnings of endowments gifted to the College by various donors.

The Alumni Association Scholarship is presented to the child or grandchild of an EAC alumnus who has demonstrated exemplary character traits and academic ability. This year’s recipients were Andrew Richards of Fort Thomas, Jaron Lines of Safford, and Jennifer Sorensen, Parker Lewis and Shanna Allred, all of Thatcher.

The Mt. Graham Regional Medical Center Board of Directors Nursing Scholarship was presented to Kendra Haeger from Safford, Brenda Henderson from Thatcher, and Armida Pineda from Los Angeles. The MGRMC Board of Directors provides this scholarship to EAC students seeking a degree in nursing.

The Safford Lions Club Scholarship was presented to Brittany Madewell and Courtney Sanford, both of Safford. It is awarded to an incoming freshman who is a graduate of a Graham County high school.

The Chase Bank Scholarship, given to a returning student majoring in business, was awarded to Dawnie Evans of Safford.

Francisco Martinez of Morenci was awarded the Holly Rothwell Memorial SNA Scholarship.

The College Park Patio Homes Scholarship, which provides for full tuition, was awarded to Scott Mulleneaux from Thatcher.

Jessica Judd, from Safford, was awarded the Graham County Republican Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to a graduate of a Graham County high school who is a registered Republican upon his or her 18th birthday.

The Ladies Auxiliary to the VFW Post 10385 Scholarship was awarded to Shari Stephenson of Safford. This scholarship is awarded to a student who is a veteran or relative of a veteran of the United States Armed Services.

The Safford Business and Professional Women’s Club Scholarship provides a scholarship to women returning to college after an interruption caused by occupational or family responsibility. This year’s recipient was Jessie Rogers from Fort Thomas.

Jessica Setlow of Thatcher received the Safford Rotary Club Scholarship, awarded to a deserving Graham County high school graduate.

The Helen Dyar King Scholarship was awarded to Katelyn Allred of Thatcher and James Hopson of Safford.

This year’s Mary Kim Titla Scholarship was awarded to Stephanie Miles of Bylas. It is awarded annually to a Native American student enrolled full-time at EAC.

The Newman Sustaining Board offers a scholarship each year to a student returning to the Newman Center. This year’s recipients were Dominic Saccehetti from Oceantownship, New Jersey, and Tricia Colvin of Safford.

The Fred and Olga Pace Scholarship, awarded to a resident of Graham County who graduated from an Arizona high school and is returning to the Thatcher campus for the sophomore year, was given to Eddy Soto of Safford.

The Donald J. Caldwell Educational Scholarship is granted to an Arizona resident in the Licensed Practical Nurse or Nursing program with a 3.0 GPA. This year’s recipient was Kendra Haeger of Safford.

The E. James Lee and Jacqueline McFadden Lee Scholarship, which is provided by The EAC Foundation in honor of Mr. and Mrs. Jim and Jacque Lee for their years of service and financial support to EAC, was given to Lauren Madewell of Safford.

Kimberlee Sell of Safford received the GFWC-Womans Club of Safford Math/Science Award, which is given to an outstanding math or science student who has maintained a high academic record.

This year’s EAC Foundation scholarship was awarded to Julie Ann White of Pima.

The Catholic Daughters of the Americas Scholarship, awarded to a deserving Catholic student, was given to Daniel Ziccarelli, Jr., of Thatcher.

This year’s Phyllis Martin Lord Scholarship, established by the family and friends of Mrs. Lord to commemorate her uncommon life of service to her family, church, and community, was awarded to Amy Rhoton of Duncan.