News Release Details

Scholarships awarded to local students at annual banquet

Story Photo


Scholarships awarded to local students at annual banquet

By Travis Nunley

Thatcher, AZ—Eastern Arizona College's 26th Annual Scholarship Banquet was held last month to recognize the scholastic achievements of almost 60 EAC students. The banquet, held at EAC's campus in Thatcher, recognized donors and recipients of more than 40 scholarships. Many of these scholarships are annually funded by the contributions of a range of organizations and individuals, while other awards are funded by the earnings of endowments gifted to the College by various donors.

The Alumni Association Scholarship is presented to the child or grandchild of an EAC alumnus who has demonstrated exemplary character traits and academic ability. This year’s recipients were Rustin Jones of New Mexico, Jayann Kieffer Palmer of Pima, and Spencer Udall, Kayla Petersen, and Brock Reynolds from Thatcher.

The Mt. Graham Regional Medical Center Board of Directors Nursing Scholarship was presented to Cortney Despain of Gilbert, and Danielle Carter of Thatcher. The MGRMC Board of Directors provides this scholarship to EAC students seeking a degree in nursing.

The Safford Lions Club Scholarship was presented to Clara Hoyle of Pima and Marissa Peasnall of Safford. It is awarded to an incoming freshman who is a graduate of a Graham County high school.

Tanner Montierth, from Safford, was awarded the Graham County Republican Party Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to a graduate of a Graham County high school who is a registered Republican upon his or her 18th birthday.

The Ladies Auxiliary to the VFW Post 10385 Scholarship was awarded to James Hopson of Safford. This scholarship is awarded to a student who is a veteran or relative of a veteran of the United States Armed Services.

The Safford Business and Professional Women’s Club Scholarship provides a scholarship to women returning to college after an interruption caused by occupational or family responsibility. This year’s recipients were Linda J. Wyatt of Morenci and Jessica De La Garza of Thatcher.

Matthew Hart of Safford received the Safford Rotary Club Scholarship, awarded to a deserving Graham County high school graduate.

This year’s Mary Kim Titla Scholarship was awarded to Isaiah Thompson of Bylas. It is awarded annually to a Native American student enrolled full-time at EAC.

The Newman Sustaining Board offers a scholarship each year to a student returning to the Newman Center. This year’s recipients were Rose Monano of Morenci and Daniel Ziccarelli Jr. of Thatcher.

Julie Garrett of Safford received the GFWC-Woman’s Club of Safford Math/Science Award, which is given to an outstanding math or science student who has maintained a high academic record.

This year, the Bernstein Brothers Memorial Scholarship was awarded to James Hopson of Safford. This scholarship was established by the friends and family of Billy and Tony Bernstein. It is awarded to a full-time freshman or returning sophomore who has a GPA of 3.00 or higher. The student must be pursuing an education in one of the natural sciences or a degree from the ITE division.

Eva Marie Arbizo of Safford received the Jesse & Betty De Vaney Scholarship which is awarded to a returning business or computer student who has at least a 3.5 GPA. The scholarship is supported by the De Vaney family to commemorate Jesse’s 37 years of dedicated service to EAC and to help students who have a similar dedication to learning.

Morgan Hooper of Central was awarded the Mark J. Green Excellence in Spanish Scholarship. The scholarship is given to a returning EAC student, from a Graham County high school, who is enrolled in a Spanish course.

The Helen Johnson Bone Scholarship was awarded to Layla Fox of Pima. The scholarship is awarded to married women or women that have been married who are pursuing their AA or AAS degree and who demonstrate personal integrity, good moral character, and good citizenship.

Deserai Webb of Safford was given the H. Greg Brockmeier Scholarship. Deserai recieved the scholarship from the former employers of H. Greg Brockmeier, Sodexho, Inc. and Affiliates, for maintaining a 3.0 GPA.

The Follett College Stores Scholarship was awarded to Dawnie Evans of Safford. The scholarship is awarded to students majoring in business who have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The Farrel Claridge & Bessie A. Layton Scholarship was presented to Ashley Bowler of Ft. Thomas. EAC has been a wonderful part of the Claridge and Layton family history and the hope that this scholarship will help others enjoy the benefits of the college.

Kimberly Walker of Thatcher received the Class of 1964 Scholarship. The scholarship is funded by the spirited efforts of that graduating class and is awarded to a student from an Arizona high school.

Courtney Sanford of Central was awarded the Clara Curtis Bennett Memorial Scholarship. To earn this scholarship Courtney had to achieve a cumulative GPA of 3.25.