News Release Details

Two EAC student scholars honored at state event

Story Photo


Two EAC student scholars honored at state event

By Todd Haynie

Thatcher, AZ—Two Eastern Arizona College students were honored along with students from Arizona’s other community colleges at the All-Arizona Academic Team ceremony and luncheon in Mesa on February 20.

The All-Arizona Academic Team is a state competition that complements the All-USA Academic Team, a national scholarship program. Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, USA Today, and the American Association of Community Colleges, sponsor the national competition.

During the competition leading up to the luncheon, the students were all ranked and placed on a first team, second team, and third team. At the ceremony the students received a certificate, a medallion, and a scholarship check from their college. First team members receive a $1,000 cash award, second team members receive a $750 cash award, and third team members receive a $500 cash award.

In addition, each of the student honorees received a four-semester tuition waiver at their choice of any of the three state universities in Arizona.

Stewart A. Glines was named to the First All-Arizona Academic Team. Majoring in Biological Science, he has a 3.88 GPA and plans to transfer to Arizona State University. He is currently the vice president of EAC’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa and the Give Joy food drive, as well as the team captain for Relay for Life. In addition to his heavy class load, he has been on the National Deans List and was a 2012 recipient of the Science Department Scholarship. He says, “If you’re not laughing, you’re crying.”

Desiree Ann Oakes was named to the Second All-Arizona Academic Team. Majoring in Psychology, she has a 3.91 GPA and plans to transfer to Northern Arizona University. She is involved in EAC’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, a member of the Criminal Justice Student Association, and is a 2012 recipient of the Dr. Pam Rule Memorial Scholarship. Two of her favorite quotes are “We are what we repeatedly do; excellence, then, is not an act but a habit” attributed to Aristotle, and “The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity.”

The two EAC students are part of a select group of Arizona community college students who earned a spot on the All-Arizona Academic Team. Scholars from Arizona’s community colleges were chosen for the recognition based on their academic achievement, leadership, and service to the community.

Since its inception in 1990, the national partnership between Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today, and the American Association of Community Colleges has provided international recognition and more than $1.5 million in scholarship opportunities for hundreds of outstanding community college students and institutions they represent. The All-Arizona Academic Team component was established in 1996 as a joint effort between the Arizona Community College Presidents, the Arizona Community College Association, and Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society.

The purpose of the annual All-Academic Team is to recognize scholarly achievements of students from junior, technical, and community colleges. Students are ranked according to academic recognition, honors and awards, activities and leadership, community service and work experience, student essay, academic course rigor, and letters of recommendation.

Each student nominated for the All-Arizona Academic Team maintains at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale, is in good academic standing, and is working towards an associate degree, and must be involved in campus or community volunteerism.